What is a Class 7 MOT?

A class 7 MOT is a type of MOT which is used for commercial vehicles with a gross weight between 3,000 and 3,500 kg. All motorists are aware of MOT (Ministry of Transport) tests in the UK, as they are an annual legal requirement to test the environmental impact and safety of vehicles. What some motorists don’t realise is that there are different types of MOT tests which apply to different vehicles. The most common type of MOT is the Class 4 MOT which is for cars, taxis, lightweight goods and more, however, the Class 7 MOT is also a very popular test for commercial goods vehicles. 

So what exactly is a class 7 MOT and when is it needed? 

Class 7 MOT tests apply to larger vans like Ford Transits or Mercedes Sprinters, and work the same way as a regular MOT. The vehicle must pass the MOT test to confirm that it meets environmental and road safety standards to be deemed roadworthy. Commercial vehicles with a gross weight between 3,000 and 3,500 kilograms require a Class 7 MOT. If you’re not sure what weight your vehicle falls under, just check your V5 document or handbook to find out. 

What does a Class 7 MOT include? 

A Class 7 MOT is an in-depth check which assesses all aspects of your vehicle from the exterior lights, wipers and bodywork, right through to the brakes, steering and suspension. The vehicle must pass all stages of inspection to be deemed roadworthy and safe to drive. The components looked at as part of the Class 7 MOT are:

  • Brakes: The service brakes, parking brakes, secondary brakes and any ABS (Anti-Lock Braking Systems) will be checked to ensure they are in good condition and operate effectively. 
  • Steering: This includes everything from the steering wheel right down to the column, forks and yokes to ensure the vehicle’s steering is working as it should. 
  • Visibility: The windscreen, windscreen wipers, field of vision and bonnet catchers will be checked to ensure the driver has good visibility whilst driving the vehicle. 
  • Electrics & Lights
  • Wheels & Suspension: This includes wheel alignment, axels, and also tyres.
  • Bodywork, Structure and Attachments: This includes bumpers, doors, seats, floor, seatbelts, airbags, horn and speedometer.
  • Exhaust system

Not only are the above physical checks carried out, but also environmental checks which look at exhaust emissions, noise levels and any fluid leaks which might need fixing. 

What happens next? 

After any MOT check, your vehicle will either pass or fail. A pass could be a straight pass or could have a list of minor problems called advisories which outline any issues you will need to keep an eye on and potentially fix in the future. 

If you fail your MOT test, you will be given a ‘refusal of an MOT test’ certificate which will list the dangerous or major issues that caused the vehicle to fail and therefore need to be addressed. These will need to be fixed before the vehicle can pass and be driven again. 

Is an MOT the same as a service?

MOT tests and services are not the same. Whilst they both need to be carried out annually, they serve very different purposes. An MOT test must be done each year by law and is designed to ensure that your vehicle is safe and roadworthy. A service is also an annual test which is designed to ensure a vehicle is running as smoothly and efficiently as possible. A service is essentially another check on your vehicle but includes things like an oil and filter change, brake tightening and tyre pressure checks. This is not required by law but is heavily recommended for safe and efficient driving.

Asda Motoring offers three types of service depending on what your vehicle requires. Choose from an interim service, manufacturer-recommended service or a full service. 

If you’re in need of an MOT, trust Asda Motoring to look after your vehicle. Our network of friendly, trusted mechanics will provide a thorough and detailed check to make sure your vehicle is in the best possible condition for the road. Book your MOT with us today quickly and easily. 

You may also like